Pizza Party -Uuni 3

Standard
Pizza Party -Uuni 3

I just bought an Uumi 3 Pizza oven from John Lewis (other retailers are available šŸ˜‰), and it’s the best thing ever!!

It’s small enough to take camping, and cooks the most amazing pizzas. Proper ones like you get in a decent pizza restaurant. 

At Ā£199 it’s not cheap, but if you regularly eat pizza, it would pay for itself pretty quickly. I reckon each of my pizzas cost no more than Ā£1. 

(Yes that is a pink wheelbarrow and pink football in the background – that’s what you get when you have a house with no men in it!). 


There is a Uuni owners forum on Facebook that has some proper pizza geeks on it, and it’s worth a look as there are a lot of helpful tips on there. 

I made the dough in my KitchenAid with Wessex Mill pizza/pasta 00 flour using the recipe on the back of the Uuni instruction booklet. I let the mixer knead it for 10 minutes. 


Then I cold proved it in the fridge for about 48 hours. This is it before proving. 


I then let it warm up outside the fridge for a couple of hours, rolled it into 5 small balls (about 160g per ball), and let it prove again. 


You can see the dough in this picture  below to get a sense of how much it rose again. 


For the tomato base, I used passata 


And chopped in loads of fresh herbs from the garden (oregano, marjoram, Greek basil, parsley, thyme and sage), plus salt and pepper. 


I cooked it gently to reduce it down to a nice sauce. 

I also made some garlic butter using 1/2 a pack of butter, 3 cloves of crushed garlic and chopped parsley from the garden (both curly and flat leaf). I mixed it all together and created a sausage using cling film. I will keep it in the freezer and chop bits off as I need it. After all, you can’t have pizza without garlic bread. 




I chopped up some veggies, sliced some mozzarella and goats cheese and bought some prosciutto for toppings. I also had some fresh Greek basil from the greenhouse. 

First up I did a pizza base to test the oven, check out that flame..


and then when it had cooked I brushed on some of the lovely garlic butter. It took just 60 seconds to cook (yes, you read that right, just one minute) and it was amazing garlic bread. It was so delicious it got eaten before I took a picture. I managed to get a picture of the last slice!

The next one was asparagus (which I steamed beforehand), prosciutto, red pepper and mozzarella. 

This is it uncooked. It’s sat on the Uuni pizza peel, which you use to slide it into the oven. It cooks on a pizza stone in the oven, which gets incredibly hot, hence the fast cooking time, and gorgeous crispy base. 

Lots of people seem to have problems with the pizza sticking to the pizza peel, so I tried semolina underneath. But to be honest I had no problems with sticking, so I reverted to a bit of flour under the pizza as it didn’t slide off and burn in the oven (unlike the semolina). 


And here it is cooked.  We added the basil after cooking. 

It genuinely only takes a minute or so to cook. You turn it round half way through to make sure it’s evenly done. 

There were a few more that didn’t get photographed, and this is the last one we made. We added an egg. A great tip I got off the  Facebook forum was to break it slightly off centre (towards you) as it moves as you slide it into the oven. And look – it came out perfectly in the centre, cooked white and runny yolk. Delicious!



I really can’t recommend this oven highly enough, I foresee lots of pizza parties this summer. 

Leave a Reply

