Pot luck – round three

Standard
Pot luck – round three

I was pretty happy with my pots last year (see post ‘Pot Luck – round 2).  But I’m trying to cut down the work the garden requires, so this year I’m trying more perennials in pots. 

I couldn’t resist some of my favourite annual plug plants, but I’m gradually introducing perennials. 

I potted up a lot today, so I thought I would share some pictures of what they look like now (1st weekend in May), and then I will add some more  in the summer when they are in full bloom. 

Lollipop verbena (perennial) under planted with verbena Aztec magic silver (annual). 

Wine crate planted with summer jasmine and honeysuckle (to climb the fence) with lavender and aubretia (all perennials). 


Cherry tree and fairy rose, both under planted with aubretia (perennial) lobelia (annual). I’m hoping the aubretia will tumble down the sides of the pots over time. But for now I’ve added lobelia that will do it in one season!

Osteopermum (3d violet ice), verbena Aztec magic (silver), surfinia (rose vein). All annuals

Petunia (phantom), bidens (golden eye), calibrachoa (can can coral reef) (all annuals) 

Euphorbia x martini (perennial) , underplanted with helichrysum (golden) (annual). 

Petunia (tumbelina Susanna), verbena Aztec magic (white), verbena Aztec (coral). All annuals. 

Petunia (cascadia Indian summer), Calibrachoa (can can double dark yellow), verbena Aztec (coral). All annuals. 

Scabiosa (blue jean). Perennial. 

Coreopsis (golden joy). Perennial. 

Osteopermum (serenity blue eyed beauty), Diascia (little dancer), verbena Aztec magic (plum). All annuals. 

Perennial wallflower (planted last year), under planted with 3 annuals –  Scaevola (blue print), verbena Aztec (violet wink), calibrachoa (cabaret deep blue). 

Tanacetum coccineum (Robinsons red). Perennial. 

Sweet pea Cupid pink (annual). 

Salvia superba (snow hills). Perennial. 

Gaillardia snappy. Perennial. 

Gazania daybreak tiger stripe mixed. I think this is a perennial but people grow it as an annual. 

Potentilla nepalensis (Mcbeath). Perennial. 
That’s not actually all of them. But they are all new for this year. 

Look out for an update in June/July!

Leave a Reply

