Tulip Love

Standard
Tulip Love

I thought it was about time to make my flower cutting patch work a little harder. So last autumn I planted masses of tulip bulbs and some wallflowers in the raised bed. I leave my dahlias in place all year, so just planted around them. 

I got bulbs (specific varieties I liked the look of) and wallflowers (plug plants) from Sarah Raven and more bulbs (some mixed collections) from Thompson & Morgan

I have to say, I’ve been totally thrilled with the outcome. I’ve had at least 10 gorgeous bunches of tulips. In completely different colours to ones that you can buy in the shops. I never realised I loved tulips so much. And I’ve had loads of comments when I posted pictures on Facebook. 

The tulips have flowered at different times, so it’s been pretty constantly in flower for about a month, in fact I’ve given some away as I’ve had so many in bloom at times. Definitely pay attention to flowering times when choosing bulbs so you don’t get too many at once. 


This is the cutting bed fairly early in spring. I had a net over them over winter so the cats/foxes/squirrels didn’t interfere. Once  they started to bloom I removed it. 

And here are some of the bunches of tulips. I love them so much!


Favourites include Mistress Grey, Bruine Wimpel, and Brown Sugar. 

The wallflowers haven’t been so good. I think I wouldn’t grownthem for cutting again, but they do look great interplanted with tulips for admiring in a pot. 

Interested to see what happens next year. Im going to leave them in situ and plant my annuals in the gaps whilst the leaves for back. 

Leave a Reply

