Max – King of The Wild Things

Standard
Max – King of The Wild Things

Just a quick blog to share my daughters Max costume. 

Her school celebrates World Book Day ever year, where the kids dress up as characters from books. This year she decided she wanted to be one of the monsters from Where the Wild Things Are, which is a brilliant book written in 1963 by Maurice Sendak. 


With only one week to prepare, I thought that might be too difficult. 


So I persuaded her to be Max, who is the little boy who becomes the King Of The Wild Things. 


For inspiration we checked out Pinterest (my favourite), and spent ages cooing over cute babies dressed as Max.

When he meets the wild ones he is dressed in his wolf suit, so that is what we tried to recreate. 

We didn’t have much at home that we could use, so I did have to buy a few things. 

I wanted a fluffy white onesie, but couldn’t find one for her age (7), so I got a plain one online from plaintshirts.co.uk which I ordered at the weekend and it arrived on Thursday. It’s actually really nice quality, and she will definitely wear it again. 

The crown was made from gold card and the feet from thin foam (both WHSmith). 

I cut the feet shapes and then attached thin elastic which went under her feet to keep them in place. Felt would work just as well as foam. 

The tail is part of a set (wolf ears and tail) that I got online from Amazon. It came with elastic which went round the waist, but I cut that off and just safety pinned it to the back of the onesie. 

A bit of fur fabric would work just as well, or For those with a bit more time, I’ve seen some awesome tutorials for making tails from acrylic wool and a pet brush!

And finally a bit of black face paint for the wolf nose and whiskers. 

And here she is…




If I had more time I would have sewed felt buttons onto the front of the onesie and put some fur fabric around the bottom of the crown, but I’m pretty happy with the result. It looks homemade, but I like that. 

Leave a Reply

