Dad’s Birthday Hamper

Standard
Dad’s Birthday Hamper

I made a lovely little hamper of goodies for my Dad’s birthday recently. 

Cute little hamper from Hobbycraft

Labels for the sweets were also from Hobbycraft. 


In the basket is:

– Strawberry jam

– Wild strawberry jam

– Raspberry jam

– Fig and onion marmalade

– White chocolate and almond fudge

– two types of dark chocolate truffles

– two types of white chocolate truffles

– dark chocolate covered dried cherries

– chocolate covered salted almonds

Here are the recipes, I made a few adaptations as I went along. And I definitely don’t recommend making truffles on the hottest day of the year!

White Chocolate and Almond Fudge. 


http://www.craftsy.com/blog/2016/07/microwave-fudge-recipes/

This is really delicious. I converted the amounts to grams, and altered it a bit (see below). Other than that I followed her method, except I toasted the almonds. 

400g of white chocolate (I used green and blacks)

1 tin condensed milk (I could eat it be the spoonful!)

Pinch salt

1 tsp vanilla bean paste

See link for the method nits a piece of cake. 

Red Onion and Fig Marmalade
This is a Thane Prince recipe from  Perfect Preserves. It is reproduced here:

http://shows.stv.tv/this-morning/food/294321-prepare-perfect-preserves-in-time-for-christmas-with-thane-prince/

I inadvertently bought re-constituted figs (not dried ones) and I only used 250g. I also just used 1 chilli and just the juice of the Orange, not the rind. It’s yum!
Dark Chocolate Truffles (cherry brandy truffles and amaretto truffles)

I made the recipe in full, then split it in half to make two different flavours. I added a good slug of amaretto to one half and a good splash of cherry brandy to the other. 

The recipe is in Green and Blacks Chocolate Recipes book, and is online here:

http://www.foodwine.com/food/ild/2005/1005/micah.html

I rolled the cherry brandy ones in cocoa powder (with added gold glitter dust for extra bling) and dipped the amaretto ones in melted milk chocolate (after freezing them overnight). 
White Chocolate Truffles (champagne truffles and lemon truffles)

Same as above – I made the full recipe, and split it in two. One half I put some Sicilian lemon essence in (from Sainsbury’s). About 3 capfuls. It needs a good stir to incorporate. The other half had Marc de champagne added. Most people think champagne truffles are made with champagne, but it’s usually Marc de champagne, which is a brandy made from champagne. 

I researched a lot of white chocolate truffle recipes, and ended up kind of making up my own. 

I used 300g of white chocolate and 100ml double cream. I put the cold cream and the unmelted chocolate together in a bowl by mistake, so I just shoved it all in the microwave until it melted, and then gave it a good stir. It worked perfectly fine!

Just cool in the fridge until firm and roll into balls. I covered the lemon ones in icing sugar (with silver edible glitter dust added) and the champagne ones in melted white chocolate (freeze the truffles overnight first so they don’t melt when you dip them in chocolate). 

Jam (raspberry jam, strawberry jam and wild strawberry jam)

I have previously blogged about making jam. You can find my blog post here. I’m increasingly a fan of using  jam sugar as it helps jam set quickly and retain its fruity taste and bright colour. 

Salted chocolate almonds

Healthier Treat: Dark Chocolate Sea Salt Almonds.

Oh my god, these are amazing. I used almonds without the skins on because that was what I had. 


Chocolate cherries

I had some chocolate left over after making the almonds, and I had a bag of dried cherries (from Holland and Barrett) lying around, so I chucked those in the chocolate and pulled them out individually with a fork (just like the almonds). They are beyond amazing. If you like Green and Blacks cherry chocolate, then you will love this. Would work equally well with dried apricots (whole or chopped up). 

Leave a Reply

