Productive Small Fruit and Vegetable Garden

Standard
Productive Small Fruit and Vegetable Garden

You really don’t need an allotment or a large garden to have a lovely supply of fruit and veg throughout the year. 

My garden isn’t large, but I have shoehorned in fruit and veg plants all over the place. Usually in containers. 

Here are some examples:


Cherry tree in a container gave me loads of lovely fruit this year. This picture below is just some of it. It’s a Stella cherry in case you were interested, and will not get massive. 



Rhubarb in containers. Had them for a couple of years, and got a good crop this year. Behind them is asparagus. I have three crowns in this tub. It’s past asparagus season so I’ve let them grow out. 



Raspberries in containers. Two summer fruiting, one Autumn (on the right) and one black raspberry which I planted in the middle tub just this year. Will see how I get on with two plants in one tub. 


Apple tree in a 3/4 barrel. Not a good year for apples this year. This is a ‘family tree’ and has 3 types of Apple grafted onto one rootstock. 


Potatoes in sacks. Just about ready to be harvested. 


Plum/damson tree. Again a family tree with two types grafted onto the same rootstock. Going to be a good crop this year, after having none last year! One of the few trees I have planted in the ground. 


Strawberries in grow bags on an old table. They grow brilliantly this way. 


Difficult to spot them, but the pots at the front and back of the picture are blueberry plants. Really easy to look after and heavy cropping. This tub is mostly full of blueberries from my first picking this year. And there are loads left on. 



Tomatoes in grow bags. Do you like my tripod frame?!


And of course a raised bed. I have two, but one is for cut flowers. I have beetroot, courgettes (2 plants) and beans (cobra, purple, roquencourt and borlotti) in here. I get loads of beans and courgettes. 

 
None of this is much hassle, and I get to go foraging every summer evening when I come home. 

Great gifts from the garden today (30th July 2016)

Lovely collection of goodies after my 2 week holiday at the end of August. 

Leave a Reply

