Spicy Pumpkin Chutney

Standard

I had a large pumpkin kicking around from Halloween that didn’t get carved. Casting around for something to do with it (and not being a lover of pumpkin pie), I stumbled across this recipe. I think it’s based in a Nigella recipe.

I had way more pumpkin than they state on the recipe, so I kind of adapted it.

– 2.3kg of pumpkin (after being peeled and seeds removed), chopped into 2cm square cubes
– 4 Bramley apples, peeled, cored and chopped
– 3 onions, chopped
– 3 red chillies, deseeded and finely chopped
– 700g sugar (I used a mix of brown and white because I didn’t have enough brown)
– 100g sultanas (that’s all I had, could do with more)
– 70g fresh ginger, grated
– 2 tsp ground cinnamon
– 1 tsp chilli powder
– 1 tsp ground cloves (original recipe had more, but I’m not a fan of cloves)
900ml cider vinegar

It’s pretty simple to make. Chop everything up, chuck it all in a pan and simmer until it’s all mushy. This amount took about 90 minutes.

Pack it into sterilised jars (I wash mine in the dishwasher then dry them in the oven at 150 degrees). Push it down to get rid of air bubbles. This amount made nine 1/2lb jars.

As with all chutneys it’s best to leave it for a while to mature. I will try a jar at Christmas (1 month) and see how it’s getting on.

It should be fine kept for about a year unopened. And I keep my chutney in the fridge once it’s opened.

20131123-223856.jpg

20131123-223934.jpg

20131123-224010.jpg

20131123-224019.jpg

20131123-224042.jpg

20131123-224033.jpg

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

