Knit Share

Standard

A while ago, before life as I now know it came along, I had free time, and a desire to create a sideline in designing cool kids knitwear.

Those of you who have read the beginning of my blog will know that I found out first hand that sometimes life doesn’t turn out as predicted. Now that I’m a single mum with a new house and garden to do up, I just haven’t the time to dedicate to carefully writing up my patterns, grading them, getting them tech edited, using a desktop publishing package to make the pattern look nice, etc. In order to publish a pattern that people pay for I believe it should be as good as you can make it, and that is extremely time consuming.

I do however have some lovely items that I have designed and made that somewhere I have handwritten patterns for, and it seems a shame not to share them.

So, here is my idea…

I’m going to put pictures of them on this blog post and commit to gradually creating a post on each pattern with additional photographs and pattern instructions. If you are particularly taken with a particular pattern then leave a comment and I will try and prioritise that one. The patterns will just be in the size I knitted them in and not tech edited, but if you find a problem or have a question then you can leave a comment and I will respond.

And if you enjoy using my pattern, in lieu of payment why not make a donation to The Alzheimers Society which is a cause close to my heart. My just giving page is here

Sounds like a plan? Well let’s go…

20121008-163212.jpg

Mini hot water bottle cover. Knitted in Patons UK Eco Wool Chunky

20121008-163309.jpg

Baby bunting. Knitted in Garnstudio Drops Paris (cotton)

20121008-163352.jpg

Block dress. Knitted in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino DK. This pattern is almost complete and will at some point be published and available for sale on Ravelry. Leave a comment if you want a draft copy.

20121008-163532.jpg

Military Jacket. My personal favourite. Knitted in Sublime Yarns Extra Fine Merino Wool DK. Is also almost complete and will be available for sale on Ravelry. Comment if you want a draft copy.

20121008-163824.jpg

Noro poncho. Knitted in Noro Silk Garden

20121008-164033.jpg

Woolsack cushion. Knitted in Jamieson’s Shetland Heather Aran. I knitted this cushion for the woolsack project which gave cushions to the 2012 Olympians an Paralympians. So somebody somewhere has this cushion, but I don’t know who!

20121008-164342.jpg

Tweed Cardie. Knitted in Debbie Bliss Donegal Tweed. I love this cardigan, and this photo doesn’t do it justice. My daughter wore it loads last year. Might knit her another one for this winter.

20121008-164541.jpg

Snowflake dress. An unfinished project that has a band of these snowflakes around the hem. Knitted in Garnstudio Drops Karisma Superwash and Patons UK Fairytale Velvet DK. Need to finish this by Christmas!

And now for a bit of shameless self promotion. The following two are available for sale in my Ravelry store. See here

20121008-164753.jpg

Holly Rainbow Hoodie. Knit in Rowan Handknit Cotton. Gorgeous lightweight hoodie. Check out Ravelry for versions in different colours/yarns.

20121008-164946.jpg

20121008-164959.jpg

Santa Hat and Bootees. Knitted in Garnstudio Drops Karisma Superwash and Patons UK Fairytale Velvet DK. Initially made for my Daughter’s doll but sized up for real babies too! Perfect Christmas presents.

Any thoughts on which I should blog about first?

One response »

  1. Hi Holly, Beautiful name. I have a gorgeous friend named Holly whom I saw yesterday at her birthday party. I love your style, hun! Esp the colour block dress and military jacket. I started searching because I have my first granddaughter due in October and I want to knit something for her. Her Mummy is a no fuss gal and isn’t into pink ruffles. I think she’d love your patterns, however do you have anything for baby besides the santa hat set? Our little baby love is sure to be a blondie like us. Oh and I have a huge ball of fine nubby pale green cotton that I’d love to use. We don’t do well with wool unfortunately.

    I will look up some of your links now and BTW the Toronto Alzheimers Society is dear to my heart too. : )

Leave a Reply

