Magic Paint

Standard

I was in Ikea recently and picked up a couple of these cute garden chairs. Not
Exactly a snip at £25 each, but I thought they would make a nice addition to my new garden, and I’ve been itching to try out some Annie Sloan paint before I use it on the gorgeous solid oak dresser I bought for a bargain £45 in my local second hand furniture shop.

20120822-185330.jpg

She uses duck egg blue in her garden chair in her book ‘Quick and easy paint transformations’ (which I love) so I tottered off to the lovely Emporium in Godstone to pick up a tin. Doesn’t it look delicious?

20120822-190017.jpg

20120822-190046.jpg

Of course I made the rookie error of squashing my finger whilst constructing the chair. Yes I did swear. And the even more rookie error of starting with the chair the right way up (instead of upside down), which meant I kept finding bits I had missed.

The paint has a reputation as being a miracle paint as you don’t need primer and it will cover pretty much anything. I have to say I agree. It easily went on the wood seat and metal legs of the chair, and coped manfully with the dirty ceramic planter I decided to also paint on a whim. It went on smoothly and the lid can be left off to thicken it (a skin won’t form) if you want. I also only used one coat and it definitely didn’t need a second.

Drips and marks can be easily sanded off, but I wasn’t really bothered as I wanted the chair to look a bit rough around the edges. I didn’t want the full on shabby chic look though, so didn’t use layers of different colour and artful distressing. I want the chair to age naturally (like me!) and it’s also an experiment to see how the paint looks after a winter as I might paint my wooden garden table and chairs next year too.

Here is a picture of the finished product. What do you think?

20120822-191048.jpg

I totally love the colour and think the paint has taken something overly shiny and new and given it a bit of character. I will add another taken in less bright light as its difficult to see the colour on this one.

Here are the before and after shots of the planter also. I like this less, but it does look quite nice now I have put a lavender plant in it. I might get a darker colour and pick out some of the pattern with a small brush.

20120822-191340.jpg

20120822-191441.jpg

I’ve also bought some Paris Grey which I think I will do the other chair in. And I have Old White for the oak dresser’ with either Paris Grey or Provence for the inside of the cupboards and drawers. Time to experiment with her waxes. I also plan to paint my bathroom floor with Provence and a couple of coats of varnish.

What is your experience of using Annie Sloan paint? Any other similar ones you’ve tried that you love?

Here is a photo of the finished product taken several days later and not in bright sunlight. Hopefully you can see how different the colour is now.

20120824-112816.jpg

Leave a Reply

